Nerdysahai’s World

July 2, 2008

The world’s changing…Linux is Growing

Filed under: Uncategorized — Abhinav Sahai @ 3:40 pm

It was the 1999 cricket world cup in England, I was a hardcore cricket follower then, I was watching a match (can’t recall the teams) when I saw a commercial in which I understood nothing. Only thing I remember is that there was a boy and he was travelling places and that the commercial ended saying “The world’s changing. Linux is growing”. I did not even know then what Linux was or for that matter what an operating system was.

Its been 9 years since that day. I reside in an engineering campus boys hostel and almost every other second one can hear the starting sound of the Windoze operating system starting. Got bored of it though but people with great speakers often let the entire hostel when they login to their winduhs machine.

But what prompted me to write this post was this. I walked into my hostel and before I could hear the sound of a favourite number or the boring sound of the windows login I heard the sound of the drums. I couldn’t believe it. I just couldn’t. If you don’t know what those drums sound meant, it was the sound when the Ubuntu (Linux) machine prompts the user to login with the username/password. I souted in joy and asked who’s this great person? Well, I did not find who that person was, and frankly speaking I didn’t want to as that gave me even more happiness that people outside my domain are also using Linux. Wow! I said and for a second I thought, yes the world is changing, we’ve brought a revolution and there will be more drums sound being heard in the near future. Compells me to say…Linux IS Growing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

